Welcoming our En Plein Air Artists
Heywood Gardens and Estate is a place of immeasurable beauty; somewhere to find a sense of history, tranquility, solitude and awe, and is the setting for Day One of this year’s Twin Trees Festival’s En Plein Air painting.
We cannot wait to welcome our artists to this year’s event, and where better to start three days of tutored painting, than the magnificent, Lutyens designed formal gardens, that were commissioned in 1906, by Colonel William Hutchinson Poe.
An abundance of subject matter awaits; from the sunken garden, with an elliptical pool and fountain, the Loggia, and rising terraces of colourful flowerbeds, to the Pergola, abloom with colour, and the vantage point to exquisite views of the lakes and woodlands below!
Our returning artists will be know what to expect, having already being wowed by the gardens, but for those who are joining us this year for the first time, we want to give you a sneak preview of what awaits on August 20th!
We look forward to welcoming our tutors, Jock Nichols and Bridgette Flannery, who oversaw last year’s event, and in addition, to welcome a new tutor, Geraldine O’Reilly to this year’s event.
Day One, takes place on August 20th in the glorious surroundings of Heywood Gardens, designed in 1906, by Edwin Lutyens and planted by Gertrude Jekyll.
Day Two takes place on August 21st, in the magical woodlands of the Heywood Estate, which boasts woodland trails, lakeside walks and a huge diversity of wildlife and nature, all set in the most wonderful picturesque solitude.
Day Three, which takes place on August 23rd, is set in the historical former Charter village of Ballinakill, with an abundance of subject matter on offer, from historic buildings to street views.
Ticket Prices: €30 per day or €80 for all three days!
The formal garden is an orphan of the once great Heywood House, which was demolished after a devastating fire in January 1950, but thankfully it has not only survived, but flourished in the time since.
The eighteenth-century romantic landscape of the Heywood Estate, consists of gardens, lakes, woodland and architectural features. It was transferred to State ownership in November 1993 from the Salesian Fathers who had taken care of it since 1941.
The formal Gardens form the centre-piece of the property and were designed by the famous architect, Sir Edwin Lutyens (1869-1944) and landscaped by Gertrude Jekyll (1843-1932).